In a “need to win” game, the Peterborough Lakers eked out a late game victory to win 9-8 over the Six Nations Chiefs in the MSL Championship series.  Despite the loss, the Chiefs lead the series 2-1.  Kyle Buchanan was the hero when he scored the game winning goal.  Buchanan added 5 assists for a 6-point night.

Mark Matthews opened the scoring for Peterborough at the 21 second mark of the first period.  Jordan Durston tied the score just over a minute later, which was followed up by a goal by Shayne Jackson.  Matt Gilray tied the score 2-2.  However, the Chiefs scored the next two goals (Tyson Bell and Tehoka Nanticoke) to end the period leading 4-2.

The Lakers came out in top gear in the second  period scoring six straight goals (Holden Cattoni, Mark Matthews, Shawn Evans, Kyle Matisz, Holden Cattoni again, and Joe Resetarits) to chase Chiefs’ starting goalie Dillon Ward from the game at the 13:40 mark (Ward had made 20 saves at that point).  Trailing 8-4, the Chiefs scored twice before the period ended (Tahoka Nanticoke with his second marker of the game and Chris Cloutier) to end the second period with the Lakers leading 8-6.

Six Nations Dhane Smith scored at 1:22 of the third period to narrow the lead to 8-7 for the Lakers.  With 5:28 left in regulation time, Ian Mackay tied the game 8-8 on a breakaway goal.

At this point, both teams were playing like the next goal would win the game.  And it did.  With 1:17 left in regulation time, Kyle Buchanan took a bullet pass from Holden Cattoni and deftly put it in the net behind Doug Jamieson.  Game final score 9-8 Peterborough.

Matt Vinc was solid making 35 saves to backstop the win for Peterborough.  Chiefs goalie Doug Jamieson replaced Dillon Ward gave up only one goal (albeit the game winning goal) made several outstanding saves for Six Nations.  Jamieson was in the nets for the Chiefs first two wins of the series. 

Game four goes Friday night in Six Nations.  Game time is 8:00 p.m.

See all the action at www.lacrosse-tv.com




Scoring for the Lakers

Kyle Buchanan (1-5)

Holden Cattoni (2-2)

Mark Matthews (2-0)

Shawn Evans (1-2)

Joe Resetarits (1-1)

Kiel Matisz (1-1)

Turner Evans (0-2)

Matt Gilray (1-0)

Corey Small (0-1)

Nick Weiss (0-1)

Scoring for the Chiefs

Dhane Smith (1-3)

Tehoka Nanticoke (2-0)

Shayne Jackson (1-2)

Ian Mackay (1-1)

Jordan Durston (1-1)

Cody Jamieson (0-2)

Chris Cloutier (1-0)

Tyson Bell (1-0)

Jon Harnett 0-1)

Adam Bomberry (0-1)

Brendan Bomberry (0-1)