Jim Bomhof acclaimed as new OLA President

The Ontario Lacrosse Association announced Jim Bomhof as President of the OLA Board of Directors.  Bomhof was acclaimed at the Annual 2020 General Membership meeting held earlier this month via Zoom.  He succeeds outgoing President Marion Ladouceur, who now assumes the role of Past-President.

Jim Bomhof has been involved in Ontario lacrosse since 1984 beginning as a player in minor lacrosse in Elora.  He has contributed to lacrosse at the team, league and provincial levels.  Jim Bomhof’s most recent OLA position (since 2012) was Vice President Junior to Major on the Ontario Lacrosse Association’s Board of Directors. 

In transitioning to the role of OLA President, the position VP Junior to Major is temporarily vacant.  An interim VP Junior to Major person will be appointed in December by the OLA Board of Directors.  The position will be up for election at the 2021 OLA Annual General Meeting.

New VP of Officiating

Also, of interest to teams in Major Series Lacrosse is the election of Ian Garrison to the position of VP Officiating.  Garrison replaces Frank Lawrence who has contributed to lacrosse for over three decades and held the position of VP Officiating for the past decade.