It was end to end action as the Peterborough Lakers won Game 1 of the Major Series Lacrosse Championship Final 8-7 over the Oakville Rock.  Adam Jones scored the winning goal 1:25 into the sudden death double overtime period.

The Rock led 3-1 at the end of the first period on goals from Johnny Powless, along with a pair from Jordan Magnuson.  Shawn Evan netted a nifty bounce shot for the Lakers.

The second period saw the Lakers outscore Oakville 3-1 ending the period in a 4-4 tie.  Goalscorers included Holden Cattoni, Adam Jones and Cory Vitarelli for Peterborough and Andrew Kew for the Rock.

Jeremy Noble put Oakville ahead in the third frame, but Peterborough responded with goals from Chad Tutton and Cory Vitarelli with his second of the game - which was the first time the Lakers had the lead.  Less than two minutes later, Oakville's Challen Rogers fired a rocket leaving the game tied 6-6 at the end of regulation time.

In the first period of overtime, Corey Small put the Lakers ahead in the first two minutes.  However, Challen Rogers blasted a shot that tied the game again with just over a minute left in the period. 

Time for the hero to emerge in the sudden death overtime and Adam Jones scored the game winning goal giving the Lakers a series lead.  This is the first time Oakville and Peterborough have ever met in the Major Series Lacrosse Championship Final and it appears that MSL fans are in for a great series.

Adam Jones scores game winning goal in double overtime

Goaltenders Nick Rose for Oakville and Matt Vinc for Peterborough were called upon to make spectacular saves throughout the game.  There were only a total of 4 minutes in penalties assessed to each team.

Game 2 of the series will be played Thursday, August 23 at the Toronto Rock Athletic Centre in Oakville.

For those who cannot be at the game in person, you can watch all the action of MSL Championship lacrosse at:


                             Twitter: @_LacrosseTV

                             Instagram: _LacrosseTV


(Photo - Courtesy of Kendall Taylor)