Major Series Lacrosse has significant representation on Team Canada

The Ontario Major Series Lacrosse league has made a significant contribution to Team Canada who will represent our Nation at the 2019 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship.  The WIBL championships will be held in Langley, British Columbia during the period September 19-28.  The MSL brand permeates the Team Canada organization.

General Manager - Ed Comeau is the General Manager of Team Canada.  His experience in lacrosse is long term at various levels of the game.  Born in Hamilton, Ontario, Comeau has a 20-year career as a player in Ontario, including winning two Presidents Cup with the Fergus Thistles.  In addition, Ed Comeau has been involved in the National Lacrosse League for almost 20 years.

Coaches - MSL Coaches are an integral part of Team Canada.

Head Coach Glenn Clark is an Ontario native who played Junior lacrosse in Scarborough and Whitby.  A winner of three Mann Cups including two playing MSL in Brooklin.  Currently, he coaches in the NLL.

 Toronto native Mike Hasen is an Assistant Coach with Team Canada.  He had a storied career as an MSL player winning two Mann Cups with Brampton.  Hasen is currently the Head Coach of the Peterborough Lakers having won Mann Cups in 2017 and 2018.  He too, coaches in the NLL.

Sean Ferris, is a Team Coordinator with Team Canada,  A native of Burlington, Ontario - Ferris played his junior career and several season of Senior lacrosse in Ontario, including winning two Presidents Cup with the Fergus Thistles.  He is currently an Assistant Coach in the NLL.

 Another Assistant Coach with Team Canada is Pat Coyle from Orangeville, Ontario.  Although he has been part of the WLA for years, Coyle began his lacrosse career in Ontario including being a prominent member of two Brampton Excelsiors Mann Cup teams. He currently coaches in the NLL.

The other member of Team Canada’s coaching staff is Curt Malawasky, whose entire career as a player and Coach has been in the Western Lacrosse Association.  He also coaches in the NLL.

Players - The Team Canada roster includes 13 players currently playing in the MSL. If the adage “Defence Wins Championships” is true, Team Canada tapped heavily into the MSL in this regard selecting two goaltenders and eight defenders and rounded out with three offensive players.

Selections included from the following MSL teams:

Brooklin Lacrosse Club (2) – defenders Kyle Rubisch and Chris Corbeil

Oakville Rock (2) – defenders Jason Noble and Challen Rogers

Peterborough Lakers (5) – Goaltender Mike Poulin; Defenders - Jake Withers; Robert Hope and Zach Currier; Along with Mark Matthews on Offence

Six Nations Chiefs (4) – Goaltender Dillion Ward; Defender Dan Coates; Offensive players Shayne Jackson and Dhane Smith

High Expectations - Canada is the undefeated champion of the World Indoor Lacrosse Championship  They first won gold in 2003 at the inaugural tournament defeating Team Iroquois 21-4.  The initial tournament was held in Canada (in the Greater Metro Toronto area with games played in Hamilton, Kitchener, Mississauga and Oshawa).  At the 2007 championships held in Halifax, Nova Scotia - Canada defeated Team Iroquois 15-14 in overtime.  In 2011, held in the Czech Republic, Team Canada defeated Team Iroquois 13-6.  In 2015 – for a fourth consecutive time, Team Canada defeated Team Iroquois 12-8 with the championships hosted by the Iroquois Confederacy. 

Team Canada 2019 is filled with the very best lacrosse players from Canada.  The roster is loaded with players who play or have roots in the MSL.  Team Canada – looking to win a fifth consecutive World Championship