Major Series Lacrosse represented in 2020 Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame Inductions

The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame revealed the names of its 2020 inductees.  The honoured inductees include players Jamie Batley, Cam Bomberry, Michelle Bowyer and Ted Dowling.   In the Builder category are Paul Day and Joey Harris.  In the veteran category, the lone inductee is Peter Berge.  And In the team category – the 1990-1991 St. Catharines Junior ‘A’ Athletics .

(The accomplishments of Major Series Lacrosse alumni who are the most recent CLHOF inductees are highlighted below)

Honoured in the Team Category - St. Catharines Junior ‘A’ Athletics (1990-1991)

Coached by Jim Brady, the St. Catharines Athletics won back-to-back Junior “A” Minto Cup national championships in 1990 and 1991.  The 1990 Athletics defeated the Richmond Outlaws 2-1 in the best of three series played at Queen’s Park in New Westminster.  The roster included Minto Cup Most Valuable Player Randy Mearns along with the high scoring trio of brothers Darris, Travis and Rich Kilgour.

In 1991, the Athletics defeated the Victoria Eagles 4-1 in a best of seven series played in St. Catharines.  Tom Hawke was the Most Valuable Player of the Minto Cup on a roster that included goaltender Clayton Henry and offensive players Darris Kilgour, Derek Graham, Mike Lines along with stellar defenders such as Darren Mutch.

When reflecting upon the 1990-1991 teams, Head Coach and General Manager Jim Brady offered the following thoughts, "Despite our strong record, not many thought the 1990 team could win the Minto Cup.  But we did.  And that made winning the Minto in 1991 easier.  The players on both teams had an attitude of being very supportive to each other.  They were happy when their team mate had success.  Sure we had plenty of great talent on those teams, but it was the pride, the team pride the players had.  The confidence and belief in each other made all of them winners individually and the team a championship team".

Honoured in the Veteran Category - Peter Berge  - St. Catharines

Peter Berge was a two-sport athlete.  Known as “Whitey”, Berge was a standout player on the St. Catharine’s Junior ‘A’ Athletics of the late 1950s and early 1960s.  In addition, he was a pick-up player for the Whitby Red Wings in the 1960 Minto Cup (New Westminster defeated Whitby).  Berge did win a Minto Cup with the Hastings Legionnaires in 1961 in defeating Burnaby.  Berge was second in playoff scoring for Hastings that season.  The Hastings Minto Cup winning roster included lacrosse talent such as John McCauley, Joe Todd,  John Davis, Gary Landoni, Ken Ruttan, Grant Heffernan and Ted Higgins.

Peter Berge was an accomplished scorer, (199 points in 4 seasons of Junior “A” lacrosse with St. Catharines and 262 points over 127 games of Senior “A” Lacrosse with St. Catharines from 1962 to 1966.

Furthermore, Berge was a Memorial Cup winning hockey player with the 1960 St. Catharines Teepees who defeated the Edmonton Oil Kings in 6 games. The Teepee’s roster included names such as Chico Maki, Vic Hadfield, Ray Cullen, Pat Stapleton and Roger Crozier.

In 2006,  Peter Berge was inducted into the St. Catharines Sports Hall of Fame.  He followed this up with induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2007. Peter Berge passed away on June 20, 2018 at age 78.

Honoured in the Player Category - Jamie Batley – Peterborough

A skilled offensive player, Jamie Batley won two Minto Cups with the Peterborough Maulers in 1986 and 1987.  Batley notched 782 points in 169 games including 318 goals during his Junior “A” career.

He continued his success in Major Series Lacrosse capturing two Mann Cups with the Peterborough Lakers in 1995 and 1996. Batley continued his scoring prowess netting 184 goals and a total of 455 points in 187 games.

At the end of his playing career, Jamie Batley became the Lakers’ General Manager and Head Coach.  He led the team to five Mann Cups (2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2012).

Jamie Batley was inducted into the Peterborough and District Sports Hall of Fame in 2016 and the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2017.  When asked to comment on his CLHOF induction, Jamie Batley responded, “Obviously, it is a huge honour and I consider it the pinnacle of my life in sports. I am grateful and tremendously appreciative given all the great lacrosse players who are in the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame”.


 Honoured in the Player Category - Cam Bomberry – Six Nations

Winning championships is a way of life for Cam Bomberry.  In 1992, he was the Most Valuable Player as the Six Nations Arrows won the 1992 Minto Cup.  This was followed up with two Mann Cup championships with the Six Nations Chiefs in 1994 and 1996.  A skilled offensive player, Cam Bomberry scored 199 goals and 485 points in 148 games of Junior “A” lacrosse.  He continued to be an offensive star in Major Series Lacrosse as Bomberry scored 178 goals, 327 assists for 505 points in 237 games.

Highly respected by his peers, Cam Bomberry gives back to the game having coached and played for several First Nations teams at both the National and International levels, including the Iroquois Nations in field and box lacrosse.

Cam Bomberry was inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2016.  With this induction into the CLHOF of Fame, he joins his father – the legendary Cap Bomberry - who was inducted into the OLHOF in 1997 and the CLHOF in 2001.

In commenting about his CLHOF induction, Cam Bomberry stated, “It is a big honour and I have to admit, I did not see it coming.  It is very special, particularly because my Dad is in the CLHOF.  He was the first person I contacted to let him know when I heard the great news”.


Honoured in the Builder Category - Paul Day  - Peterborough

As a player, Paul Day captained two Minto Cup teams with the Peterborough Maulers in 1986 and 1987.  After 3 seasons more seasons as a player – one season in each of the WLA, the NLL and Major Series Lacrosse – Paul Day changed his focus to coaching and managing teams.  His first success was with the NLL Rochester Knighthawks.  In 2004, Paul Day was selected as the NLL Coach of the Year.  He was the General Manager of Team Canada in 2007, 2011 and 2015.  In addition, Paul Day has been the General Manager and on the bench with the Peterborough Lakers recent three-peat of Mann Cups in 2017, 2018 and 2019.   He holds the same position as GM and Head Coach with the Philadelphia Wings of the NLL. 

Paul Day was inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2017.  When offering his thoughts about induction into the CLHOF, he commented, “I am honoured and surprised.  This award is based on all the players, coaching staff and great people I had support me and teach me the game.  I am very happy to represent all of them in the Builder category”.