MANN CUP: Chiefs capture seventh Mann Cup title

Thanks to another legendary performance from captain Cody Jamieson, the Six Nations Chiefs captured its seventh Mann Cup title in franchise history.

Jamieson scored twice and added four assists to lead the Chiefs to a 11-9 victory over the New Westminster Salmonbellies in Game 5 of the national senior A box lacrosse championship at historic Queen's Park Arena.

The two teams, went toe-to-toe in the first period, much like they have throughout the best-of-seven series. Ben McIntosh scored twice for the Chiefs, while Keegan Ball also netted a pair and Ryan Martel added one, giving the Bellies the lead.

The Chiefs put the foot down on the gas pedal in the second period, with Shayne Jackson leading the way scoring three times, while Jamieson and Dhane Smith added to the cause. Kevin Crowley scored the only Bellies response.

In the third period, the Western Lacrosse Association champion Salmonbellies attempted to mount a comeback, with Haiden Dickson netting a pair, and Will Malcom scoring one to tie the game midway through the frame. But the Chiefs flexed its offensive muscle with Bryan Cole, Jamieson, Smith and McIntosh scoring to give them a lead they wouldn't give up.

Martel scored two late goals for the Salmonbellies.

Doug Jamieson was again fantastic betweeen the Chiefs pipes, making 50 saves to earn his third win of the Mann Cup. Zach Higgins again gave his team a chance to win with another gem between the pipes making 43 stops.

For his efforts, Cody Jamieson was named the Most Valuable Player of the Mann Cup, earning the Mike Kelley Memorial Trophy. Jamieson was not only the spiritual leader of the Chiefs, he led by example, scoring eight goals and 14 assists during the five games.