MSL Coaching Staff of the Year (Terry Sanderson Award)

Oakville Rock Coaches: Matt Sawyer; Mike Accursi; Jon Harasym

Oakville Rock Head Coach Matt Sawyer has been a career coach with experience at all levels of lacrosse – Minor, Junior, NLL and MSL.  Sawyer won three Minto Cups during his playing career and two as a coach with Orangeville Northmen. Along with his Head Coaching duties with the Rock, Matt Sawyer is the Head Coach of the Toronto Rock of the NLL.  Sawyer is known for his attention to details focusing on little things that make a team successful.

Mike Accursi had a successful career as a player on championship teams.  He has done his apprenticeship as a coach and along with his duties with the Oakville Rock, Accursi was appointed to the position as the first Head Coach of the Halifax Thunderbirds - the newest franchise in the NLL.  Jon Harasym also had a successful career as a player.  He is now adding to his coaching development working with the Oakville Rock.

Similar to the high level of skilled players - MSL, team coaching staffs are of the highest quality. The calibre of the Oakville Rock coaching staff certainly contributed to receiving the Terry Sanderson Award as the 2019 MSL Coaching Staff of the Year..