MSL rolls out regular season and playoff format

Major Series Lacrosse is excited about our 2024 season that will feature seven teams, playing a 12-game schedule that will soon be released.

Our 2024 season will begin Monday, May 20, with the defending Mann Cup champion Six Nations Chiefs hosting the Owen Sound North Stars in its annual Bread and Cheese Day game. 

The rest of the schedule will begin the first week of June.

After the 12-game regular schedule, MSL will have an extended playoff format with three rounds.

The first round of playoffs will be a best-of-five series
1st place earns a bye

2nd vs 7th

3rd vs 6th

4th vs 5th

The semifinal and final will be a best-of-seven series.

“The modified schedule will make for an interesting MSL season we are all excited about,” MSL commissioner Lynn Withers said. “Our league is stronger than it has been in a long time. And some of the best players in the world will be showcasing their talent with our teams.”


Major Series Lacrosse (MSL) is a Senior A box lacrosse league based out of Ontario, Canada sanctioned by the Ontario Lacrosse Association. Its teams are Brampton Excelsiors, Brooklin Lacrosse Club, Cobourg Kodiaks, Oakville Rock, Owen Sound North Stars, Six Nations Chiefs, and Peterborough Lakers.

Most of the players in the league play or have played in the National Lacrosse League. Each year, the playoff teams battle for the right to compete against the Western Lacrosse Association champion for the Mann Cup.

MSL will host the 2024 Mann Cup.